Travel Health

Yellow Fever

Yellow Fever is a disease caused by a virus that is transmitted by the bite of an infected mosquito.  

Risk of contracting the virus is generally low for most travellers, but may be increase when travelling to areas of risk, staying for extended periods of time and participating in outdoor activities such as camping and hiking.

A Yellow Fever vaccination is required when entering into South Africa from the following countries:

Angola, Argentina, Benin, Bolivia, Brazil, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Colombia, Guinea-Bissau, Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ecuador, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, French Guyana, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Kenya, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Nigeria, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, Sudan, Suriname, Togo, Trinidad and Tobago, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Venezuela.



The World Health Organisation has declared the outbreak of the Ebola virus disease a public health emergency. Travelling to the following countries poses a risk to travellers:

Guinea, Siberia and Sierra Leone.

Many international airports, ports and other points of entry around the world have implements Ebola screening measures which usually consist of a health declaration and/or a temperature check.  In some instances individuals arriving from areas that have been affeced by the Ebola outbreak are being denied entry into many countries.

Some airlines have reduced the number of flights in and out of West Africa.



Treatment to prevent contracting Malaria is recommended before and after travelling to Zimbabwe.  Insect protection measures, such as use of mosquito nets and repellants, are also essential.

According to SADC health statistics, Mozambique and Zambia are high transmission countries, and most areas of Zimbabwe that share borders with these two countries (South Eastern Lowveld, Kariba, Victoria Falls, Hwange).